12

Huawei P30 Review – The Best Camera Phone in 2019

Huawei launched P30 & P30 Pro in March 2019 which was right after Samsung’s S10 family. Once both released, Huawei P30 Pro was ranked as top#1 in Dxomark smartphone list which was the Best Camera Phone in 2019.

 

Although we all know Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ currently tops Hauwei P30 Pro with only 1 more scoring, it is recognized the short-life king on the list since we are now having Apple’s flagships on 10-Sep and Huawei’s Mate 30 series on 19-Sep.

 

I got so excited to see both super-powerful smartphone giants’ new models, but before that, let’s go back to review on Huawei P30 & P30 Pro.

 

Let’s follow Blablaphones for a better dive! 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

Product: Huawei P30 Lite
Display:  
6.15″ OLED (1080 x 2312 pixels) /  84.2% screen-to-body ratio(415 PPI)
Chipset: HiSilicon Kirin 710 (12 nm)
RAM: 4/6 GB
Storage: 128GB storage, MicroSD slot(up to 1TB)
Camera:  48.0 MP(wide) + 8.0 MP(ultrawide) + 2.0 MP(depth sensor)
Front Camera:  32.0 MP
Battery: 3,340 mAh and Fast battery charging 18W
Colors:
 Peacock Blue, Midnight Black, Pearl White
Other Features: Fingerprint (rear-mounted) /

 

Product: Huawei P30
Display:  
6.1″ OLED (1080 x 2340 pixels) 19.5:9 ratio (422 PPI)
Chipset: HiSilicon Kirin 980 (7 nm)
RAM: 6/8 GB
Storage: 64GB/128GB/256GB storage, Nano Memory slot
Camera:  40.0 MP(wide & Laser AF) + 8.0 MP(telephoto & OIS & 3x optical zoom) + 16.0 MP(ultrawide)
Front Camera:  32.0 MP(wide)
Battery: 3,650 mAh and Fast battery charging 22.5W
Colors:
 Aurora, Amber Sunrise, Breathing Crystal, Black, Pearl White
Other Features: IP53 / Fingerprint (under display, optical)

 

(Huawei P30 & P30 Pro got the Aura colors on the back which gives a fairy-ish to me!)

 

Product: Huawei P30 Pro
Display:  
6.47″ OLED (1080 x 2340 pixels) 19.5:9 ratio (398 ppi density)
Chipset: HiSilicon Kirin 980 (7 nm)
RAM: 6/8 GB
Storage: 128GB/256GB/512GB storage, Nano Memory slot
Camera:  40.0 MP(wide & OIS) + 8.0 MP(telephoto & OIS & 5x optical zoom) + 20.0 MP(ultrawide) + TOF 3D camera
Front Camera:  32.0 MP(wide)
Battery: 4,200 mAh and Fast battery charging 40W(70% power in 30 minutes) & Fast wireless charging 15W
Colors:
 Aurora, Amber Sunrise, Breathing Crystal, Black, Pearl White
Other Features: IP68 / Fingerprint (under display, optical)

 

Design & Display


In the era that each smartphone manufacturer copies something from each other and renames with different features to make it less copying, I think Huawei P30 & P30 Pro didn’t WOW me for the first time.

 

But, when you compare it with its previous generation – Huawei P20, it does have many changes!

 

First of all, the thinner chin and smaller notch on the center of the top which houses the front camera, Huawei calls it “Dewdrop”, or you could refer to Samsung’s “Infinity-U” or “Infinity-V”. I like the later since the wordings of “infinity” also expresses the better experience of Samsung’s infinity screen.

 

There is one more thing that Samsung used to mention and I found it appears on Huawei’s P30 & P30 Pro, which is the curved screen. While there are no more inspiring updates from Samsung on the curved screen, other Chinese smartphone manufacturers are exploring more possibilities for it.

 

We just know that vivo NEX 3 will be launched on 20-Sep with an almost 90-degree curve which is as known as waterfall screen, got so excited on this NEX 3 too!

 

September 2019 = Techtember!

 

Camera


Leica lens plays an important for all Huawei’s phone. If there was no collaboration between Huawei and Leica, I would not see this super success coming to Huawei in 2019.

 

Let’s the major features of 4-camera set on Huawei P30 Pro since it was the top#1 on Dxomark smartphone list. It’s getting more competitive than ever!

 

There are 40.0 MP(wide & OIS) + 8.0 MP(telephoto & OIS & 5x optical zoom) + 20.0 MP(ultrawide) + TOF 3D camera. It’s amazing that this combination does widen our horizon for many aspects.

 

Periscope Telephoto Lens

When I first come to periscope telephoto lens, I have many questions for it. But, I didn’t realize that this small periscope is something that Huawei leverages to make super-zoom a reality on P30 Pro.

 

A periscope is often used by a submarine that needs to observe the enemy which was also widely used for world war I for military purpose. By this, I think Huawei does think outside the box!

 

Night Photo

Although Google’s night sight is still the best in the smartphone industry, it’s not bad to see other competitors create their own night sight features.

 

Huawei did a good job on night photo which I see the brighter results on any night photos. It’s due to the Huawei SuperSpectrum sensor to increase 40% light and Huawei’s self-developed algorithm.

 

You could also try to adjust the ISO by Pro mode, ISO on P30 Pro could be swiped up to 409,600 to meet your request. It could turn the dark into a sunny photo!

 

(Taken By Huawei P30 Pro, you will get a brighter result at night but it’s still not as good as Google’s night sight! Photo credit: Julius Dadalti)

 

HUAWEI TOF Camera

I didn’t use TOF camera that much since I don’t always to make bokeh mode for any of my portrait photos, and I like it natural. For some social-media posts, you might need this feature.

 

What I like the most about TOF camera is to enhance to use it for a more precise face unlock, it’s pity that the front camera didn’t come with TOF camera. If there is, it would become very ideal for everyone!

 

Silky Water Shot

There is one thing that I think Huawei might top any other phone in the world which is the long exposure shot for silky water. Let’s look at the below photo, isn’t it wonderful?

 

I used to think only professionals could take this kind of shots with DSLR cameras, now the phone on our hands help us to take PRO photo even if we are not.

 

To take this photo, you need to follow the below steps:

  1. swipe to camera mode, then light painting
  2. try to stabilize your phone with bare hands or a tripod
  3. tap the shutter button and you will see the photo is building by the tap then release the button when you think it’s ok

 

(You may take this silky water photo by Huawei P30 Pro which WOW me a lot!)

Macro Mode

Same as Honor phone – a brother brand from Huawei, they all come with the Macro mode in their camera menu. You could use it to capture tiny things in nature, such as flowers, animals, or any fine details for anything.

 

It’s becoming so vivid that Macro Mode is a signature feature of Hauwei’s camera which is great! Now, you should understand why it was top#1 on Dxomark smartphone competition from Apr to Aug 2019 before Samsung Galaxy Note+.

 

YEAH! It’s too strong for any shots to ignore the results taken by Huawei P30 Pro!

 

Video

For video recording, Huawei P30 Pro did an extraordinary job! Very good stabilization and good details for the footages. Let’s watch a video to see the result. Click the below! 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

 

Dxomark on Huawei P30 Pro

(Huawei P30 Pro listed as the top#1 before Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ released in Aug’19. Image credit:Dxomark)

 

Shortcut to Dxomark review:

-Photo-

  • Pros: accurate autofocus, good details in low-light
  • Cons: unnatural rendering of sky, range of image artifacts

-Video-

  • Pros: very good stabilization, low noise
  • Cons: strong noise in low-light, some exposure, and white balance instabilities

 

Performance & Battery


Huawei is using its Kirin 980(7nm) on both P30 & P30 Pro, and Kirin 980 is the first 7nm chipset in the world which makes it ahead of other competitors. With a stronger chipset and lower power consumption, Huawei P30 & P30 Pro could easily last a long day for you.

 

  • Huawei P30 comes with a 3,650mAh battery and supports fast battery charging 22.5W.
  • Huawei P30 Pro comes with 4,200mAh battery and supports fast battery charging 40W(70% power in 30 minutes) & Fast wireless charging 15W

 

I hope maybe next year we could see a larger battery comes to Huawei for 5G generation phones since the connection might consume more power than we could imagine. 5,000mAh would be a good choice!

 

(Huawei P30 Pro has a 4,200mAh battery which is enough for normal daily chores.)

 

Minor features:

  • In-screen fingerprint unlock: easy, breezy and quicker than ever for the unlocking process
  • IP68: dust & water-resistant, no worries for your coffee splash at breakfast
  • Safety: Huawei’s fast charging got certified by TÜV
  • Share OneHop: connect your Huawei P30 Pro with your computer which gives a premium sync experience

 

PS. TÜV Rheinland is a German company that provides inspection and product certification services for safety and quality, in that case, we could leave the concerns that it won’t explode like Samsung Note 7 in the past which left a shadow in many Samsung fans’ mind.

 

Downsides


Top#01 Huawei Ban in the USA

Although the Ban is postponed again for 90 days by USA president – Donald Trump, it worries me a lot if I live in the United States.

 

It will mean I cannot use Android on any Huawei phone and need to download Huawei’s native apps for all the similar service Google provides. What if all my friends use Google’s service and I cannot share with them?

 

I see the problem!

 

Top#02 User Experience

Except for Google Pixel Phone, the rest Android phones would have issues when running their own operating system on top of Android.

 

For Huawei, if you run EMUI on tops of Android 9 or 10 later, the user experience is not always as good as iOS since it’s more secure and explicit for Apple users.

 

Top#03 Depreciation

We all know Apple is the only company that old phones could still maintain the value after new models are introduced and released each year.

 

For iPhone 8 & 8 plus, the value of both models are still high in the market and sometimes you could find other competitors’ flagships prices are lower than Apple’s models two years ago.

 

So, I often convince myself and my family that a good phone is an investment. If you keep it well-maintained, you could swap for a better price when you would go for your next phone in the future.

 

>>>Check the Latest Price on Amazon<<<

 

Conclusion


Overall speaking, Huawei P30 Pro is indeed the Best Camera Phone in 2019 (before Samsung Galaxy Note+). I think the best part of Hauwei phone is due to the famous Leica camera set!

 

It explores many possibilities that we seldom see on the other smartphones’ flagships which WOW the world since 2018. In 2019, I am expecting more sharp and advanced camera on Mate 30 series which will be launched at IFA Berlin!

 

Can’t wait to see more updates from Huawei!

 

I hope you enjoyed this review and if you have any questions about Huawei P30 & P30 Pro or want to leave your own personal review, leave a comment below.

 

(All Photos: Huawei)

 

You may also like:

01.Huawei Mate 20 Review – The First 5G Smartphone in China

02.Huawei P20 Review – The Leica Triple Camera

03.Samsung Note 10 Review – The Intelligent S Pen

04.Samsung S10 Review – The Best Phone In 2019 So Far?

05.OnePlus 7 Pro Review – The Flagship Killer

06.Google Pixel 3 Review – The Best Android Phone In 2018


Huawei P30 PRO

USD$769.98
8.7

Design

8.5/10

Camera

9.0/10

Battery

8.8/10

Build Quality

8.5/10

Performance

8.5/10

Matt Lin

12 Comments

  1. Oh my my, this is a very beautiful phone this Huawei P30 Pro and it takes very beautiful pictures too. I didn’t think that one can take such an amazing photo with a phone ever.

    Even the iPhoneX series don’t take blazing photos like this. I am really happy that God has blessed us with phone makers like Huawei. What to say, apart from the pro, the other phone in the series seem to have a lesser version of the battery.

    On the bright side, the phone brightens up pictures in the night mode. With this one can take close to professional pictures. I love it!

    • Hi John!!!


      Love that you like it too, I hope you enjoy my review and you are also welcome to check other Huawei Phones like P20 & P30. They are also good with almost the same camera features to suit your taste of photos!

      🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Huawei is getting really gaining grounds and is releasing some kinds of bombs. This p30 especially the pro that has an extended battery life is simply nearly.

    How in death would you fit all those special features in it with that much battery. Most camera does not even boast of such an awesome lens.

    My current camera cannot even replicate some of the pictures that this would just click within a couple of seconds. This is great!

    • Hi Mattias,

      I am glad you like the camera set on Huawei P30 Pro, it’s really WOWing me for the results. You may check more reviews and feedbacks HERE to know more!

      🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. Excellent review you have done up here concerning Huawei p30.

    Firstly, I would say my laptop is just 4GB RAM and the last time I guessed, I wasn’t expecting a phone to have more gadget features than a laptop.

    This is simply mad.

    I just went to YouTube to check it out now and I am still getting amazed by the quality of the camera and lens. Thanks for the review

    • Hi Roland,

      Yes, the camera is the top#1 on Dxomark for a few months until Samsung Galaxy Note 10+. So, I think it pretty much rocks all the camera performance to gain the reputations.

      You’re welcome to read more reviews HERE!

      🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. Awesome review about the Huawei P30 camera phone. I love taking high-quality photos with my cell phone and my old cell phone is at its end of life and I am needing to replace it.

    By far other, than actually being able to call people with my phone, I want it to have an awesome camera and I think this might be it. This review has been super helpful in convincing me that this might be the phone for me.

    I love so many of the features you described such as the ability to take cool night photos, silky water shots and really awesome 4k video, this camera has really got it all.

    Thanks for taking the time to review this product, I am looking forward to using this new camera phone for some amazing pics and video.

    • Hi HighLife101,

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving your honest comment on this post and Huawei P30 is definitely the best camera phone you could call it.

      Please see more reviews HERE before making the right decision!

      🙂 🙂 🙂

  5. The Huawei P30 Pro is an impressive piece, I love the fact that it is both water and dust resistance, reverse wireless charging, a faster in-display fingerprint scanner, and more.

    But let’s be honest, the P30 Pro is really all about the camera, unlike anything we’ve used before and allowed you to capture photos that you simply wouldn’t be able to get with any other smartphone.

    I’m looking forward to getting myself one of these. Thanks.

    • Hi SeunJeremiah,

      I LOVE that you like it, and you are more than welcome to know what other people say about Huawei P30 Pro HERE!

      🙂 🙂 🙂

  6. Do you give much importance to the camera on a smartphone? So, which are the best camera phones in 2019? Mobile phone experts select the top 5 smartphones with the best camera in 2019.

    • Hi Everyday Science,
      Thanks for the honest comment, and I would love to come out my top 5 smartphones in 2019. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *